Vice Chancellor

UTU Vice Chancellor
New Year Message - 2023
Size : 819 KB | Language : English Click here To View/Download
Vice Chancellor's Message to Alumni
Size : 1.25 MB | Language : English Click here To View/Download
Message of Vice Chancellor Even Semester 2022-23
Size : 187 KB | Language : English Click here To View/Download

Dr. Onkar Singh

Vice Chancellor, UTU

Dr. Onkar Singh a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Harcourt Butler Technical University (Formerly HBTI), Kanpur since 18th January 2007. He has been the founder Vice-Chancellor of Madan Mohan Malaviya University of Technology, Gorakhpur from 17th December 2013 to 28th April 2017 has the credit of successfully transforming the erstwhile Madan Mohan Malaviya Engineering College to U.P. State’s first non-affiliating technological University. He started his career as Lecturer of Mechanical Engineering at the Institute of Engg. & Technology, Lucknow on 1st May 1991 and became Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering at HBTI, Kanpur on 20th  August 1999. He served as Additional Controller of Examination at Uttar Pradesh Technical University, Lucknow, and made the unique beginning of the use of ICT through the innovative OMR cover type answer books & online marks capture for transparency in tabulation, web-based college management system for examination works. Dr. Singh has also been Vice-Chancellor of Uttar Pradesh Technical University, Lucknow from 30th April 2015 - 4th August 2015, and made remarkable contributions in time-bound deliveries, bringing in transparency and rescheduling University activities in a short period. He has also held responsibility of Vice Chancellor of Veer Chandra Singh Garhwali Uttarakhand University of Horticulture and Forestry, Bharsar, Pauri Garhwal during 12th October 2022 to 16th December 2022.

Dr. Singh has authored 11 books, edited 01 book, edited 06 conference proceedings, and written 11 chapters in different books. He has published 233 papers in International/ National journals& conferences and 128 popular articles. Dr. Singh has guided 14 Ph.D. students, 29 PG dissertations, and completed 07 research projects. He possesses 03 patents, 01 copyright, and two National Records – LIMCA Book of Records, March 2014, and LIMCA Book of Records, February 2015.

Dr. Singh has understanding of premier institutions through his association with their apex bodies as Member-Board of Governor of Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur & Indian Institute of Technology, BHU Varanasi, Member-General Council of National Board of Accreditation, New Delhi, Member-Northern Regional Committee of AICTE New Delhi, Member-Governing Council of Ram Manohar Lohia Law University Lucknow, Member-Court of University of Allahabad, Allahabad, Member-Board of Management of Gautam Budha University, Greater Noida, Member-Board of Governors of Kamla Nehru Institute of Technology, Sultanpur & U.P. Textile Technology Institute, Kanpur, Member-Governing Council of Jaypee University of Information Technology, Solan, Member-Finance Committee of National Board of Accreditation, New Delhi, Member-Board of Governors of I.E.T., Dr.R.M.L.Awadh University, Ayodhya, Member-Board of Governors of G H Raisoni Institute of Engineering and Technology, Pune, Member-Governing Body of Bapatla College of Engineering, Bapatla, Guntur, Chairman of Peer Teams of NAAC, UGC, etc.

Dr. Singh is Fellow of The Institution of Engineers(India), Fellow of Indian Society of Mechanical Engineers, Fellow of International Society for Energy, Environment and Sustainability, Honorary Fellow & Life Member of Indian Society of Technical Education, Life Member of Oil Technologists Association of India, Member of Indian Society of Heating and Refrigeration Engineers, Life Member of Indian Science Congress Association, Fellowof International Society for Energy, Environment and Sustainability and Member of American Society of Mechanical Engineers, USA. He is the recipient of the National Scholarship, AICTE Young Teacher Career Award in the year 2000, 100 Most Influential Vice Chancellors Award –2016, and Asia’s Education Excellence Award – Exemplary Leader award – 2016.